Home » Uncategorized » 5 Reasons Why Being A Writer SUCKS…

5 Reasons Why Being A Writer SUCKS…

187I posted 5 Reasons Why Being A Writer Is Awesome a few days ago, so I feel it’s only fitting to post the cons as well as the pros, eh? I may prattle a little because I, like most human beings, love to whine about things…So, here is my list and, by all means, feel free to add your own in comments below!

1.  Finding time to write is a real pain sometimes if you, like me, have a family and…ya know…a life outside of the word docs.  This is something that I struggle with on a regular basis because I have to have music and solitude in order to work.  Solitude in a house with four children is almost nonexistent, yet I still manage to find it sometimes–like when they’re all asleep!

2. Writers get rejected an awful lot lol… If you write, you have to eventually submit your work to publishing companies.  Chances are, not everyone is going to like every little thing that comes out of your imagination, so if you’ve been doing the writing thing for any amount of time, you probably have entire folders in your email account full of nothing but rejections and, let’s face it, some of them are rather cold! Submitting, to me, is like standing on your front porch naked and waiting for neighbors and passersby to make comments about every little flaw you have in the hopes that just ONE of them will like what they see.  Yeah–sometimes it hurts.

3. WRITER’S BLOCK!!!  Even the pros struggle with this.  The best medicine for writer’s block, in my experience, is to just write through it.  Write something, anything–just write.  Even if it sucks, you’re writing and your brain is still working a little bit and eventually you may become focused enough to write something that doesn’t suck.  Also, if you have any of your own tips for writer’s block, please share them–I’m always looking for new writer’s block medicine lol.

4. Reviews are great, but sometimes they’re not so nice. I feel like this one is pretty self explanatory. Reviewers are, for the most part, just people.  Not everyone is going to love your work, but sometimes people say things that aren’t very nice and throw out personal attacks against the author–I’ve seen this one happen, though it’s never happened to me.

5.  My last reason why being a writer sucks has to do with other people’s assumptions.  Writers are not rich.  Royalties for an anthology are never that much (if you make anything at all) and book royalties are not that much, either.  Unless you’re Stephen King or Anne Rice, you’re probably not going to make enough to live off of until you’ve written a substantial amount of books and have formed a rather large fan base and that’s often easier said than done.  People won’t know you’re even alive until you’ve pimped yourself purple and really REALLY marketed your book with every avenue possible.  It sucks, but it’s okay. I’m a firm believer that if you just keep it up and keep going, you can’t really go anywhere other than up.  Uh, but the process still sucks.

3 thoughts on “5 Reasons Why Being A Writer SUCKS…

  1. I love it. I really enjoyed reading this one even more than the last few. It may be the subject, but I think you’re getting better all the time. Although, or maybe, because, I’m new at writing, I learn something every time I read your stuff and I enjoy it – what more could you ask of a writer. I may be a little biased but I keep thinking your books are going to take off any day now. Can’t wait.
    I have plenty of inspiration, time is my enemy especially this time of the year. Everything in my life gets busier during the Holidays. Cheers! Keep up the good work.

    Like

Leave a Reply

