Home » Books I Like » From the Torment of Dreams

From the Torment of Dreams

From the Torment of Dreams by Iain McKinnon

From the Torment of Dreams by Iain McKinnon

I began hearing things about this book long ago.  Immediately, I thought now THAT’S a story I wanna read!  Why, you ask?  Oh, because it’s about a guy dreaming about a lost love.

Sort of. There’s a little bit more to it than that.  Lan, the main character, joins an army just to get away from memories of a girl.  Seriously.  Sound familiar?  Men (and women) do this kind of thing all the time.  It’s a very human reaction to a separation, either by your own doing or by fate.  I like to call it cutting off your nose to spite your face, but I guess you could also call it escaping, if you are so inclined. Just so you can escape (see what I did there?) my prattle, I’ll give you the description of the story from Smashwords:

Lan Agstaff joins the Terran Army to escape the memories of his ex-lover, but en route to his posting on the planet of Neotra his suspended animation chamber malfunctions leaving him to dream without end. Revived in the midst of a war of secession Lan has to fight for his life all the while tormented by dreams of his lost love. 

Also, there’s this…

Adult-content rating: This book contains content considered unsuitable for young readers 17 and under, and which may be offensive to some readers of all ages.

And, yes, the content rating is probably needed.

Iain McKinnon’s writing style is one I can easily follow while reading.  I like that when I’m reading one of his books, I can easily see the picture he’s painting for the readers without a struggle.  The action involved in the story is wonderfully played out and the characters are very human, very likable, very believable.  Lan, our runs-away-from-women main character, gives us all a look into the human mind.  His character, while dreaming of his lost love, made me want to smack him and hug him in an oh you poor little thing! sort of way all at the same time.

The Terran army in and of itself is an element of the story I thoroughly enjoyed, also.  After all, as far as I know, this army doesn’t exist.  It came straight from the author’s imagination.  The war and the background for the story are very well thought out.  It’s fun to get lost in a book, isn’t it?  I love when an author (in this case, Iain McKinnon) creates a totally different world for the readers to lose themselves in.

In a nutshell, I’d say this book has my seal of approval for a wonderful read.  It tugged at my heartstrings, made me crazy with emotions, and made me want to scream at Lan at times–all signs of a great story.

From the Torment of Dreams, trailer.

Buy this book from Smashwords. 

Iain McKinnon’s author profile on Amazon.com.

Leave a Reply

